Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums Other What kind of Degree did you get in Web Dev?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 32 total)
  • Author
    MrBrightside
    Participant

Hey guys I’m looking of going into doing web development. I noticed the ones I looked at where Associate degrees and I wondered, what’s a good level of education for a Web Developer to get? What did you guys get? So please do share your wonderful insites because I would love to have them.

Thanks,

Anonymous
    Inactive

I think you’ll find a lot of people (myself included) are self taught. :)

+1 Self taught.

MrBrightside
    Participant

I’ve taught myself web development to a pretty big degree. I don’t want to waste my time and money on a degree if it’s like “this is what HTML is…” but I also don’t want to be like “don’t worry I may not have a degree but I’m really good!” So what are some good degrees to get that would supplement my knowledge or make me more valuable?

but anyway I want more people’s comments.

Senff
    Participant

I have a bachelor’s degree in computer science, but that has nothing to do with my web development skills (self-taught as well).

I guess the value of it (in fact ANY bachelor’s degree) would be for an employer hiring you; it just says that you’re smart enough in general, so to speak.

Not that it guarantees anything, but put it like this: if there’s two guys who apply for the same web development job, one is a high-school dropout and the other one has a bachelor’s degree in economics, the one with the degree has better chances to be invited for an interview. Even though the dropout may actually have better development skills. So in a way, it just makes for some impression.

But it’s not the be-all-end-all. If the dropout writes a better application letter than the bachelor, then THAT might get the dropout a foot in the door.