Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums Other Is your craft valued or are you just a code-monkey in your team?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 26 total)
  • Author
    crazycuriouscoder
    Participant

As a front-end developer I’ve felt the pain of my craft not being valued. CSS needs to be rewritten? Yeah right, management doesn’t care. I talked to another developer and it was the same deal. Their craft wasn’t valued. They had little say as to what should be done. Is this a pretty universal thing? What sucks about your job?

nixnerd
    Participant

I’m a freelancer and I would say that my craft is very valued. I’m primarily a front-end dev but I enjoy back-end technology and I do a fair bit of PHP and Python coding. I’m starting to get into NodeJS as well. I also do some dev ops stuff like configuring Linux VPS setups and stuff like that (Nginx/Apache configs, .htaccess stuff, light databasing work, system updates etc). That being said, in my experience… front end devs are way more valued. Why? People absolutely love eye candy, they always will and that will never change. Ever.

All of my clients care far less about what the site does or how it works. They pretty much only care about how it looks. Luckily, I’m pretty good at CSS and getting better at JS everyday.

Don’t feel undervalued. I think you’re just on a crappy team. Maybe it’s time to leave and go elsewhere.

nixnerd
    Participant

Yeah dude, I second @TheDoc (and myself I guess). I read stories like this on /r/webdev and some bosses just don’t get it. They think they are the talent, they are the brains, you are just a little code slave. Far from it. Without people like you… the company doesn’t even exist. Literally. No one can operate purely on a brick and mortar level anymore. Digital presence is so important that it’s the closest thing to a land grab this country has seen since the Homesteading Act.