Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums CSS Why EM's? article

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    smedz28
    Participant

Hi everyone,

So having just read through the above mentioned article that Chris posted in 2012 I have been playing around with converting a test design to em’s from px (I’m still learning CSS and this would be my first design if all goes well). Although I now understand how to convert font sizes to em’s when scaling down to mobile browsers I still can’t work out how to calculate the conversion for padding, margins and so on. How can this be done?

The font part was easy to understand as using a CSS reset the font size defaults to 16px (in most cases I assume) when using font-size: 100%. Can someone explain the calculation used for the margins etc? also provide a simple example for container div with a paragraph in or something to that effect?

Thanks in advance

Paulie_D

Although I now understand how to convert font sizes to em’s when scaling down to mobile browsers I still can’t work out how to calculate the conversion for padding, margins and so on. How can this be done?

You really can’t determine the em value for every circumstance (without sitting there with a pen, pencil & calculator) because of inheritance and, perhaps, that is why px were used for margins & padding to ensure consistency.

These days if you really want to ensure true flexibility one would use rem.

smedz28
    Participant