Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums Other What are your design weaknesses or flaws?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Matt

I thought I’d like to start a thread to get to know some of the weaknesses or flaws of designers. Something along the lines of "Not enough documentation".

My weaknesses:
    My code is usually indented oddly, and I tend to not fix it. It looks right to me, but nobody else.
    I tend to ignore documenting anything in my PHP/Ruby/Python/C#/ColdFusion. Though, in HTML and CSS, I have comments that even indicate where a certain div ends.
    I’m a better programmer and graphics designer than I am a web designer.
    I’m scatterbrained.
    I tend to get vocal with clients who decide to scrap an idea a week after I announced that I was finalizing the design and backend-logic.
    I rely heavily on WordPress for many of my contracts (I consider this a flaw).
    I can’t wrap my head around MVC, for some odd reason. I’ll work on this later this week I guess.
    I don’t understand why margin’s collapse due to floats. I think this is a flaw, and I really should go learn why they do.
    I don’t understand why people get so mad when you use an empty div to clear a float. I’ve always done it and it works, gosh darn it.
    I’ve had to follow Section 508 on my last 3 projects, consecutively. One of my clients also wanted a timed form and a couple flash movies. The fact that I gripe is a flaw, though, couldn’t we get someone else to watch those stupid movies and type the dialogue?
    I’m never satisfied with the finished result.

How about you guys?

My main flaw is communication. It’s something that I’m working on, but it was very noticeable on my last project. That’s a glaring problem that I HAVE to fix immediately.

My other main other weakness is procrastination. I was going to work on that this week, but haven’t gotten to it yet… :lol: