Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums Design Start page not home page help

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    imgaryshap
    Participant

Hi All, I’m a noob to coding and website design. I have an animation that i want to play when visitors first visit the site. That animation – once it plays – will then automatically dissolve into the home page.

This animation only shows up when visiting the site for the first time or hitting refresh on the home page.

where do i begin?

thanks so much!

Paulie_D

Oh…It sounds like you want someone to write this?

That’s not what we do….I suggest you do a lot of research, try a few things, write some code and, if you still can’t get it to work, make a minimal demo in Codepen.io for us to take a look at.

If you do have something already….then a demo is still in order.

imgaryshap
    Participant

no – i don’t want anyone to write it. I’m starting my research here, hoping someone can point me in the right direction. I’ve looked up many similar questions like mine on this site (i.e., how do you make pages fade in and out) and have come away with great links and code recommendations.

Shikkediel
    Participant

You must undoubtedly have some HTML at least? The next question would be – what are you using for animation, CSS or JS? Best to share what you’ve done.

As I read it, you would need JS in any case – sessionStorage that is, to keep track of the page load count of the current visit.

imgaryshap
    Participant

there is a question and either i’m not articulating it well or you aren’t understanding me.