Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums CSS Some help required on a CSS3 Rollover Transition

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    MrPixel

Hello everyone

im a web designer from the UK and this is my first post so i hope someone can help me with my problem.

Im fluent in CSS, and ive been learning CSS3 over the last couple of months with some great results.

There is an idea im trying to achieve on a new site but ive hit a brickwall.

Ive got a div 220px a 120px with an image the same size set as the background which ive created as a 240px high sprite. I wanted a 2 stage rollover done in pure css, so my code is as follows.

#example {
    width:220px;
    height:120px;
    background:url(../images/example.png) -0px -0px;
    }

#example:hover {
    background:url(../images/example.png) -0px -120px;
    -webkit-transition:all .2s ease-in-out;
    -moz-transition:all .2s ease-in-out;
    -o-transition:all .2s ease-in-out;
    }

Now the image rolls down when you hover over it due to the sprite with the above CSS3 transition, but i wanted a second stage where a mask rolls back up over the second image with a solid bg color and some text a little bit after the 1st stage.

Ive managed to create a mask on another div to create this effect with some text sliding in on a solid color bg, but this 2 stage idea is beyond me atm. Basically ive got a monotone image to start, i want it to go to the colour version on hover, then 3-4 secs later i wanted a mask of a solid bg color and some text to slide in over the colour image.

Im sure this is possible, but ive come unstuck. If some kind soles on here can advise how to achieve this effect i would really appreciate it.

Billy
    Participant

All you need to do is have the transition code in the first one as well:

#example {
    width:220px;
    height:120px;
    background:url(../images/example.png) -0px -0px;