Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums JavaScript Runnig Javascript from Inside a Frame

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author

I have an index file with a frameset of two rows, one of which is linked to a file (frame1.html) that contains a javascript that’s creating a sort of animation.

For some reason the animation is not playing inside the index file.

Note that if I open directly frame1.html it plays just fine, meaning that the javascript is working well on its own.

The files are also properly linked because the CSS properties from frame1.html are being correctly applied to frame1 inside the index file. It’s simply the javascript animation that isn’t running.

I’ve never worked with frames befores so am not sure what I could be missing…

I’m not sure if I should (or how I could) use CodePen for a case like this.

Any help will be highly appreciated.
    Thanks.

Senff
    Participant

A frame never interacts with the page it’s embedded on — it’s always its own entity — so it’s possible that the Javascript actually checks if it’s in a frame or not.

It’s hard to guess what could be wrong if we don’t see it, but on Codepen you can use frames too, but I guess the page that’s in the frame should be an external page. Not a chance we can see the actual page in action?

I’m not sure I understand you first paragraph.
    It’s not meant to interact with anything. It’s supposed to be like a window (literally!) to a different page. The problem is that the “window” (frame) is not showing the full picture. CSS properties, like background color, are being applied but the anymation isn’t running.

I guess I could upload the whole thing to dropbox.
    Would that be okay?

Senff
    Participant

Yea it’s kinda hard to explain what I mean…I’m trying to say that code on a page doesn’t care if it’s run independently or within an iframe, it should always work the same.