Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums Design Responsive design question on grids

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    cybershot
    Participant

Why do responsive frameworks like bootstrap and foundation have small, medium and large grid sizes? If you are coding for all screens with the framework, would you just use large columns? When would I need to use small vs medium vs large?

Paulie_D

For different layouts on different devices and added flexibility.

I’m not entirely sure what your questions is.

cybershot
    Participant

I am just getting into responsive design. I have 3 23 inch wide screens hooked up at home. Responsive design is suppose to work by changing the layout to fit whatever screen. It looks like bootstrap 3 has col-xs-1, col-md-1, col-lg-1. Why does it need three different size columns? My thinking is that if you just use the lg version of that column, it would scale to fit all screens. I am just not sure when to apply the other columns.

tomek
    Participant

You don’t want responsive layout to fit each device and still look the same everywhere, believe me :) If you have a site that’s based on three columns, it will look good on large devices. But on mobiles and smaller tablets (and this kinda weird thing called phablets)? You need to have less important columns dropped down, and the most important one – the content – to be brought up. The point is – user, when accessing your site on mobile – has to get the informations he wanted fast, and I mean, really fast, otherwise he’ll get out and go someplace else. So, using large columns is great for main layout.