Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums Other Releasing website into the wild

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 21 total)
  • Author
    rayanzenner
    Participant

Hey guys, I’m pretty new to web design and I just got a job to build a gallery type website. I’m capable to build the site and everything but there are few issues that I’d appreciate some help/tips/advice on:

1) What’s the best option for content management for a gallery type site in which main additions will be images and text descriptions? Doesn’t want to look blog like. The guy isn’t very technical so I think ftp uploads might frustrate him a bit.

2) Any advice on how to auto crop images to certain size? I tried the CSS clip thing but isn’t really what I want.. I’ve seen sites that do it but haven’t been able to figure out how. Maybe some javascript or jquery code that I can just implement in my code will work.

Basically have preview images on home page that link to main gallery and they want to be a certain width and height, showing the best parts of the image. Point is I don’t want the client to have to manually crop images every time he uploads new ones.

Thanks

Tomasz Lisiecki
    Participant

Hello Rayan,

1) You are dealing with a WordPress fan, so yup. WordPress it is. Media library built-in, easy to query media and display on the front-end. Have you considered it?

2) If you used WordPress, you would just add in php add_image_size( 'unique-name', 200, 200, true ) and then every image your client uploads image will nicely get cropped into the dimensions you want :) Otherwise, I made a PEN for someone yesterday. Check it out here :) Just remove width and height on image if you don’t want it to be zoomed. Then use left & top to move it inside a view box.

Let me know your thoughts.

rayanzenner
    Participant

Ho,