Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums CSS Positioning and Height not working correctly in Firefox/IE

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    ferdia
    Participant

Hi folks! Newbie here, I’m hoping one of you fine people can see through the cloud of confusion I seem to have built for myself.

I am in the middle of building a responsive landing page for a company and the position of the CTA is refusing to work outside of chrome. Here is is working perfectly in chrome, reducing in size as I want it to: http://hydraservers.net/builds/

The following CSS is achieving that.

#page1Container {
        max-height: 700px;
        min-height: 700px;
    }

#page1Background {
        background: #c5c5c5 url(../../../media/bg.jpg) no-repeat;
        background-position: 50% 50%;
        background-size: cover;
        width: 100%;
        height: 100%;
        padding-bottom: 23.5%;
    }

#page1Container .page1CTA {
        width: 1400px;
        height: 100%;
        margin: auto;
    }

#page1Container .page1CTA #page1CTApos {
        position: relative;
        top: 26%;
    }

Along with the following DIV structure:

<div id="page1Container">
        <div id="page1Background">
            <div id="adjustMe" class="page1CTA">
                <div id="page1CTApos">
                    <h1><?php echo $config['homeHead1']; ?></h1>
                    <h2><?php echo $config['homeHead2']; ?></h2>
                    <div class="page1Button"><a href="get-started.php">Start Your Free Month</a></div>
                </div>
            </div>
        </div>
    </div>

Chrome is absolutely nailing what I want to achieve, but Firefox and IE are both falling over. Any ideas of what I am missing? Bare in mind the responsive nature of the background.

paulob
    Participant

Hi,