Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums CSS Page Wrap doesn't grow

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    restfulsilence
    Participant

Hello everybody,

I am sure it is a typical beginner mistake (and I am a total beginner), but it would be great if somebody could help me.

http://codepen.io/anon/pen/GJRomW

If I put text in my little red box, the page wrap grows with it. But if I start using top:10px; for example, to move the box around, the box moves down, but the page wrap doesn’t grow with it.
    In the real page, I would like to create a footer part within the page wrap, but as long as I can not move the content (my little red box in this case), I stuck.

I am glad for any help.

Thank you in advance.

restfulsilence
    Participant

Thank you for the advice. I read the article about float before, but is there not a way to use float and keep it in the flow? If it was in the article too, maybe I missed the part.

Could you/somebody maybe post the code, so that it works? Just for this example.
    I tried some methods after your advice, but it still seems not to work.

Thank you in advance.

restfulsilence
    Participant

I did try it. Actually I have used all the examples. In general I understand the problem. But I do not see a solution for my problem. Because, if I use position:relative; in the wrap container and try to move the inner part with top:; etc., it can happen, that it leaves the wrap container. If I use margin-top etc. instead on the inner part, I do not have the problem, and the wrap container grows with the moving inner part.

But I would like to use position:relative; in the wrap container and would like to move the inner part with top:; etc.
    And this is the point I do not understand. Is there way to fix this? Even with clearfix it doesn’t seem to work, or does it not work at all and there is no workaround?

Paulie_D