Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums CSS New to CSS. Help with BG image

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author

Hello. I’m a long time designer with some background in HTML (mainly from the late 90s), but I’m pretty strong in it. However, I’m finally trying to jump on the "modern web design" bus and CSS looks like it should be the perfect place for me to dive into next.

Now to my problem. I’m developing my own website while learning CSS. So far the page only contains two elements: a background which scales proportionately width-wise and an alpha-transparent PNG which is page wrapping (centering) depending on the size of the browser window.

Currently my background is displaying OVER the PNG. I’ve tried z-index flags, but nothing is working. I’ve even tried to place the background image into the body tag, but I lose the scaling when i do that.

Anyways, I’m hoping someone can point out what I’m missing. Am I close to the solution or miles away? Thanks in advance! I’m loving this site.

Mockup: http://www.electricalienstudios.com/spec/site-design.jpg
    Page in broken action: http://www.electricalienstudios.com/spec/index.html

pab

Hi,

you have to put your image in the css and not inline.

so you can do something like

body {
    background-color:#fff;
    font-family:Georgia,serif;
    font-size:62.5%;
    background:url(the path to your background) no-repeat; /* or what ever you want to do with it*/
    background-position:fixed;
    }

same applies for your other image for your div.

hope this helps. nice background image by the way.

pab

Thank you for the response.

I took what you recommended and I’m happy to see the images stacking in the right order now.