Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums CSS Need help with pure CSS popup positioning, please!

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Seppuku

Hi everyone,

First of all, I’m a total amateur in web designing (and I’m not native to English, so forgive my grammar). I have no formal training on HTML, CSS or anything like that, but still I’m trying to build a personal site using CSS and simple HTML. I haven’t had real problems, until now.

Maybe this is a pretty basic issue..

I bumped into this pure CSS popup code (Eric Meyer’s) and began using it. Simple enough, is working fine.
    I have a vertical navigation bar with 5 links to the left. At mouseover on each link I have this popup to appear at upper-right of my page, to the right of the main title. I did this using the following:

div#linkbar a span { display: none; }
    div#linkbar a:hover span {
    display: block;
    position:absolute; top:35px; left:1150px; width:250px;
    padding:10px; margin:3px; z-index:100;
    border:2px dashed #cce698;
    border-bottom-right-radius:0.7em;
    border-top-left-radius:0.7em;
    color:#808080; background:#ffffff;
    font:14px Consolas, sans-serif; text-align:justify; }

The issue that concerns me is that the popup gets misplaced when I zoom the whole page using CTRL+scrollwheel (it moves to the left when I zoom in -overlapping my title header- and to the right when I zoom out -out of the visible area of the browser). At 100% zoom, the popup box is positioned where I want it, so I figured I had to “embed” it, so to speak, in a floating area (in the same spot -right upper corner, that is “#rightheader” below), so that when I zoom in/out the page the popup stays in the same area of my layout.

I hope I explained it right.
    Here’s the CSS + HTML for the elements:

1. THE TWO AREAS OF MY HEADER

#leftheader {
    float:left;
    height:126px;
    width:624px;