Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums CSS moving from static html, css to WP, collapsing wrapper

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    ggold

I am new to programing. I have a art/design background and am building a site from Lynda.com tutorials. I have modeled the site word for word (accept for asthetic ammends) from Chris’ template and when I check on the local host the site keeps collapsing. I pushed through to the second tutorial to see if the sidebar would create the structure for the page but it is still collapsed. I am wondering if it is because I downloaded a newer version of WP. It looks fine when I check the static locally in the browser. It would be great if Chris could answer or anyone who is familiar with the Lynda videos. I don’t have a link to send because the site is not live. I can paste the code if anyone is willing to help.

BTW Chris is an awesome teacher. Even though my page won’t load, his lesson are an incredible combination of inspiration and knowledge.

thanks

ggold

Thanks virtual, I added the code but it is still collapsed. Logically it makes sense that would be the problem because my header is ok and it seems like there is no page wrap because there is no padding on the sides either. Here is the code I added but it still doesn’t work. Did I write it wrong?

Not Found

thanks so much, I really appreciate it. BTW, what other problems did you have?

GGold

ggold

It fixed some of it but it is still collapsed. Did you add anything to the style.css file. The code creates an id tag of ‘main-content’ but there is no styling in css, does that matter?

Chris Coyier
    Keymaster

Here’s some points related to this thread:

– The version of WordPress shouldn’t make any difference, if there is things collapsing it’s related to HTML and the CSS affecting that HTML.