Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums Other Migrate WordPress site to a New Domain and New Server

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Mazhar
    Participant

Hello,

I have created a demo website for a client in WordPress using WP template: http://mazharkhan.com/fxpigments2/

Client liked the design and approved for the same. Now i work on his domain and server , so how can i move entire website from my domain and server to his domain and server?

Is there any simple way to do it because i have no knowledge about Database i know how to use FTP.

Any help is appreciated!

Peace,

Mazhar

PicnicTutorials
    Participant

Get his login info. Pick a FTP to use. Login via FTP to his server. Transfer all the files.

Leonhard Ortner
    Participant

hi mazhar19,

i will discribe my way doing this:

1. Copy all Files from “DEV-FTP” and upload it to a sub-folder on the LIVE-FTP
    p.E.: domain-tld/new-site/*files go here*

2. make a Database-Backup from your DEV-SITE

3. create a Database at your LIVE-SITE/HOST and import your DB

4. alter your wp-config.php file to fit your need p.E.:
    define(‘DB_NAME’, ‘database_name_here’);
    define(‘DB_USER’, ‘username_here’);
    define(‘DB_PASSWORD’, ‘password_here’);

5. Load this file to your LIVE-SITE-Folder
    http://interconnectit.com/products/search-and-replace-for-wordpress-databases/

6. IMPORTANT – Be sure to always have a BackUp! ;)

7. run replace.php and follow instructions *read carefully!* at the point where u should “replace” some kinde of words replace OLD-DOMAIN with NEW-DOMAIN
    p.E.: localhost:8888 -> newmegasite.com

8. In the Adminpane of your new Host u have to change where the Domain points, Domain should point to sub-folder we created in Step1…

So you could get up your site without going “offline” with the old one.