Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums CSS Menu hover effect causes unwanted movement

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    NReed253
    Participant

Hello, I am a new coder so forgive me if this is a simple issue. I have googled my issue numerous times and I cant find exactly what Im looking for. Im guessing its because I do not have the correct terminology to find my answer…

Anyways.. I want to include a hover effect for each of my menu items. When I hover over each item I want the text to be enlarged (120%) and the I want a colored box to be shown. I also want the hover box to be wider and taller than my text. I got all of that to work. But my problem is that when I hover over each item, the padding causes the other menu items to move over and also the menu bar to increase in height. I want everything else to stay still while I hover, just the text of the item Im hovering on to be enlarged.

Here is my code that I am working with:
    http://codepen.io/Nreed253/pen/FmzsA

Any tips?

Thanks a bunch!

Senff
    Participant

You’ll have to make sure that the hoverable item has position:absolute;.

Items with absolute positioning won’t have any effect on other elements on the page, so their size/position won’t disrupt other items.

But, in order to make that work, the parent of the hoverable items has to have position:relative; so you can position properly. Check out this 6-year old (but still relevant) article how that works: https://css-tricks.com/absolute-positioning-inside-relative-positioning/

NReed253
    Participant

@Senff, So I am still trying to get the terminology down.. What do you mean the “parent of the hoverable item”? Is that the .menu ul?