Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums CSS Link menu with right border

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    xe2

Hi all, first post here, this is a great community!

I have little annoying problem I can’t get rid of. (I’m extremely new to css)

I have a link menu and each link has a right border of 1px with some padding so the border doesn’t touch the link.
    it is a right border so the link on the right has a border on both sides (because the link to the left of it has a right border). I am trying to get the border from the last link to go away
    so that the ‘dividers’ are only inside the links, not on the outside.

How do I make it so only 1 of those links doesn’t have a border? I got rid of the <li> tag and that did the trick, except my html doesn’t validate like that.

Thank you so much for the help, It will be great to browse around here, I found this site a few days ago and love it.

noahgelman
    Participant

Create a class with no border, and attach it to the last list item.

Code:
    .last { border: none;}
    xe2

This seems so simple, I just can’t get it to work. Here is the html for the list

<div id="toplinks">
    <ul>
    <li><a href="#" >Home</a></li>
    <li><a href="#">Services</a></li>
    <li><a href="#">Links</a></li>
    <li><a href="#">Contact Us</a> </li>
    </ul>
    </div>

How do I attach it? I’ve tried doing it like all the other font styles and it doesn’t work.

I can attach a style to everything else on my layout, just not 1 link, in that list. I’ve managed to do absolutely everything I wanted with css for my layout except this, which is funny because it’s so simple. I’ve googled it, searched forums, etc, and still can’t find how to do it.

edit2:— here is the layout. I haven’t cleaned up the html or css so please don’t laugh too much. Still working on it, will make everything nice and neat once I’m done =)

noahgelman