Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums Back End Is WordPress a viable non-blog site full CMS solution?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    morgatron

I have a client that needs a property management website created on a budget. It needs property listings, MLS integration, and a database of homeowners’ associations w/user login. The client needs to be able to update and add new listings on their own. I have limited experience with WordPress, but I convinced my boss it can do everything needed, will save us from having to code a custom CMS from scratch, and will be easy enough for the client to use. Did I speak too soon? Your thoughts are appreciated fellow css-tricksters!

TheDoc

You are mentioning some relatively advanced things, which might be beyond the scope of WordPress. You can put something together, I’m sure, but it’d be much tidier with WordPress 3.0 (still in Beta last time I checked).

Chris would probably tell you that WordPress is most certainly capable of all sorts of things! :D

I just don’t have any specific experience with real estate sites, especially any MLS integration.

netxm

I’m building similar web site, but can’t figure out how to get MLS feed and embed it on the web site. Should real estate firm get paid MLS feature that provides this feed and then I can use IDX or Great real estate plugin… Does someone know anything about it? :geek:

Luminated

First off, I would definitely say WP can be a viable non-blog full CMS solution as I’ve already built sites using it and its been wonderful. But it really depends on what you are wanting the Content you want the System to Manage, if you will.

As far as your needs, a quick Google search generated this result:

http://wordpress.org/extend/plugins/tags/mls