Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums Other I can develop frontend, but not design. Does this matter?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    sparcut
    Participant

Hey guys!

I am a senior student at school and have been developing websites for about a year now. I have gotten to the point where it is easy for me to create a website from scratch. But I find it very difficult to accutally come up with fully original designs, I know how a site should look, but I really need a drawing, plan or wireframe to accutally start writing up a site.

To any front end devs, do you acutally have to design the sites you make or do you collaborate with a graphic designer.

For example, if someone shows me a site, I can easily reproduce it but when coming up with original layouts that ‘pop’, is challeneging; I find looking at ‘site inspiration’ sites help, but I’d just like to know if it is really that important when it comes to acctually working on a project in a business setting.

Disclaimer: I don’t mean copy and pasting code and pull togther a site from that, I mean looking at other sites and replicating in my own way to fit with the flow of the site I am deving.

Senff
    Participant

In short: nope!

Longer answer: no, it doesn’t matter. If you aim to be a professional developer, then you don’t need to have design skills. At my day job, I develop sites but never do any design; for that, there are (you guessed it!) designers. ;)

If you want to be a freelancer, it might help to offer a design + develop service. But there’s nothing wrong with just offering development services.

And personally, I think designs should be done by those who are really good at it, so I’ll stay away from that too.

I.m.learning
    Participant