Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums CSS HTML/CSS Navigation

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Conspi

Introduction
    Hey! I have made a few sites in past, but all I’ve really done is mostly use WYSIWYG editors and manipulate the code it generates to my liking. So now I decided I should take a next step and be able write everything from the scratch. I am familiar with the programming logic ( I have basic knowledge about C languages ), so I watched videos Chris made about converting photoshop mockups into a working website, and I found it really helpful, so thanks Chris! Because I can understand programming logic and I am not completely stranger to HTML/CSS and other web languages AND of course because of the helpful videos Chris has made, I think I can now manage to build a decent site from scratch all by myself.

Well.. almost. I might have missed a part. I don’t know how to make a navigation. Well, at least when I don’t want to use frames that is. So here’s..

..The Actual Question
    What are different ways to make a good, modern navigation purely using HTML and CSS? That means that site uses no frames and doesn’t have separate .html file for each page, as that makes updating menu and probably bunch of other stuff a pain in the ass.
    (What I really mean by separate .html page is you know.. index.html, downloads.html, contact.html etc. ALL which are stand-alone pages including the site design elements)

So what I am looking is a more dynamic ways for changing the content of the sites. A modern workaround for those old frames. It would also be really cool if search engines would dig the code :)
    But this is probably something really easy for you guys, so to not bore you out, then all fancy effects for changing content is also welcome :)