Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums CSS Horizontal Dropdown Menu Formatting

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author
    Sugarpie2009

Hi,
    I’m trying to start my first website, which is powered by WordPress. I found a theme I liked and added a dropdown menu below my header image. The problem is my menu items are all skewed to the left and there is no spacing between each of the menu item titles. My navigation menu looks like a complete mess. All the letters are pushed to the left of the bar, and it’s just a string of letters pushed up against each other. I’ve played around with spacing, margins, and widths, but nothing I do changes the appearance of my navigation menu. Does anyone have any ideas about what I’m doing wrong? I’m new to CSS and this is my first attempt at customizing my own site. Any advice or tips would be helpful. I’ve tried looking it up, but all I find are menu plugins to download, and none of those seem to remedy my problems.

Thanks,
    Sugarpie2009

Sugarpie2009

Well, I guess I should axe out the last inquiry. I was messing with the code in the stylesheet and theme last night, and the entire thing ended up being deleted. First my navigation menu disappeared, and then my header image was gone too. I ended up finding another theme I wanted to work with, but I haven’t touched it yet. It’s the "vina" theme, available on WordPress.
    Here’s what the theme looks like: http://wordpress.org/extend/themes/vina

These are the things I want to either change or add to the theme:

1) In the top navigation bar,above the header image, where it says "home," "about," and "parent page," I would like to change the titles displayed on the bar and add additional titles (links) to the bar. Instead of being three links, on the left side, there would be at least half a dozen links lining the entire top bar.