Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums Design Help! I suck at design!

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    David Ingram
    Participant

So this may be a complete shot in the dark but since I learned most everything I know (which is admittedly limited) about css and website styling from this site I thought I would give it a try. I am redesigning the website for the public library where I work. I am a sysadmin/programmer by trade. I have had no problems getting my site to function as I want it to. The form side of things is a different animal all together. And as much as I will wish for a budget for a designer it is just not going to happen on a public library budget.

I have created a design for the header and footer sections of my site I am ok with, but I am having trouble coming up with a way to subdivide the different “modules” of content in the main content area of my home page. Here is what I have so far….

Website Screenshot

I am just drawing a blank here. I’m not looking for anyone to design my site for me or anything. I just need some inspiration or maybe suggestions for books/instructional materials. Sites that I can use for inspiration?

If anyone replies I would be forever grateful. All I can offer in return are some free Summer Reading bookmarks that I will mail to you. (kidding, but I really will if you want some.)

Paulie_D

Perhaps looking at some existing ‘themes’ might help: http://themeforest.net/category/site-templates/nonprofit

David Ingram
    Participant