Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums Back End Detect mobile and redirect

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 45 total)
  • Author
    DocRocks

I’m not a php programmer and would like to find a php script to detect visitors who are using mobile phones to my site, and then redirect them to a subdomain on the site optimized for small screens. Can someone point me to an easy to understand and install script to do that?

Thanks

chrisburton
    Participant

Why not use media queries?

Simple Google search: http://www.9lessons.info/2010/09/redirect-mobile-devices-with-php.html

Johnnyb

@ChristopherBurton, he may want a dedicated mobile site to prevent having to load extra content which isn’t needed for a mobile version. Media queries are great, but if you want a really lightweight stripped-down version of your site for mobile then redirecting to a specifically designed page is the way to go, in my opinion. Although by using adaptive images you can combat part of this problem.

@DocRocks
    , you can use PHP to detect specific user agent strings, but rather than doing that it’s probably a better idea to redirect based on screen size. I don’t know how to do this in PHP but with jQuery you could use something like this:

if($(window).width() < 480){
    window.location = "mobile.yoursite.com"
    }
    chrisburton
    Participant

@Johnnyb – Load extra content?

Johnnyb

Well yeah, by that I mean the whole page and all of it’s resources still have to load even if you don’t use them. You may be hiding certain elements, having to scale down or hide certain images completely, including JS libraries that you don’t need for the mobile version, all of which are being loaded and slowing down the page load.

With a dedicated mobile page/site, you can include just the elements you need, reduce image size dramatically, and only load the scripts/stylesheets you need.