Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums CSS Crit…

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    stevedeer

Hi all

I’m new to this web stuff. If you have a spare moment, please check out my new web site. It’s very minimalist, I wanted the photography to stand out and not let any ‘design’ get in the way.

It’s based on a theme from cargocollective, with some css and jQuery. It’s not yet complete, there are pages that need content and lots more photography needs adding, but the time is right for a critical eye before I continue.

I really want to know if it works on your machine, and do you ‘get it’?

Thanks in advance…

http://www.stevedeer.co.uk

TheDoc

I think it looks great. I feel like the padding on this image is a little off http://payload5.cargocollective.com/1/5/174537/2404946/square.jpg – better yet, why not use some proper html text in there?

I don’t think I ‘get it’, if there is something to ‘get’.

The pictures look pretty good, too – I like the mix.

Since I have a large browser that doesn’t require a horizontal scroll, I would love to be able to use my mouse’s scroll wheel to navigate left/right through the site. I think there’s some jQuery for that?

standuncan

Very nice, I like it. Like @TheDoc said, it would a great feature to have the scroll wheel enabled. Also when you “isolate view” I think the image should be centered in the page then. Photos look great. No watermarks?

stevedeer

Cheers guys

I will definately look into the jQuery scroll thing. Doc, I’d love to use html, but the core html is not accessible (we spoke yesterday!!), this was just a quick/easy/lazy fix. Regarding the padding… if you’re talking about the ‘sd’ that’s a contemporary design feature ;-) By ‘get it’, I was hoping that it was obvious that some images are part of a series, and is it obvious that you can click thru them… I’m not sure.