Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums JavaScript “Contact Us” Div ( Hidden ) shows and hides on page refreshes

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    fjorko

Hi All

Very new to Web dev and Jquery in general – in fact I’m a dev noob. I’m Building my first site for experience, and I dearly would love your help with my site. Basically – each time the site loads in IE7/8 my contact us form which is hidden behind my main content opens briefly and closes as soon as the jquery code starts executing that hides this form via a .css() method. It occasionally happens in FF and Chrome as well. I think that jquery is not quick enough to set the css property of the contact us div to 0px in order to hide the form from view before the user sees it.

Please check this with IE and see if you can spot the reason with Firebug please…. any advice is greatly appreciated…

Thank you.

PS. Be kind – it’s my first attempt at this, and I’m not finished yet….. :-)

Link: http://test.epbudgerigars.com

Johnnyb

Hey there, nice job for a beginner! The problem is that you’re not giving the contact_wrap a height in the css, so it shows the content and then the jquery uses the ‘$(“#contact_wrap”).css(“height”,”0px”);’ to hide it. Try setting the #content_wrap properties to ‘height: 0; overflow: hidden’, initially in the CSS file, and then when you click the ‘Contact Us’ button use $(“#contact_wrap”).animate({height: ‘400px’}, 500); which will expand it to whichever height you like.

fjorko

Johnny – you’ve just become my new best friend. I think it works !

Can you verify that you do not get the brief “form exposure” anymore ? Can you check from your end on IE, FF and Chrome pls ?

Thanks so much !

fjorko

How will I validate the form then ? It uses Javascript for that too… so even if I had a separate contact page for non-java users, the form will be “broken” in terms of validation…