Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums CSS Background image being truncated.

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    orangeworx

Hello all, I’m new to post here but I’m a regular reader of this site’s articles, there are always new things to learn and experiment with.
    And well, all this experimenting lead me to this pickle! I’ve been experimenting with WP theme creationg and I decided to have a 1600×1200 background image behind predefined width content.
    Everything is as it should be, positioning, no stretch… etc. But the issue is a little more puzzling for my not-so-advanced CSS knowledge. I noticed something happening on different monitor resolutions purely coincidentally. I work on a dual monitor setup, a 1366×768 laptop screen and a 1920×1080 external display. It so happened that I was loading the page on Chrome on one screen and another on FF. On the big screen, the bg displays normally, full size – height and width. On the laptop screen, the image is cut at the sides (which is acceptable) and also at the bottom, right where the browser window cuts off (happens to all browsers I tested, IE,FF and Chrome. And that’s a big PIA because it breaks the effect on the bg image and rest of the scrollable content (height-wise).

Any insight on why that might be happening?
    Thanks for reading!
    FF

Paulie_D

Without a link or seeing your CSS…it’s going to be tough to help you.

I do have one question though.

You say that at 1920wx1080h it’s displaying proper ‘full’ width (1600w) without stretching…how does that happen?

Equally, at 1366w…how can it be cut at the sides when it’s 1600 wide?

This might give you some insight: http://www.w3schools.com/cssref/css3_pr_background-size.asp

orangeworx

hey there Paulie, thanks for the reply. I apologize for the total noobish post, I wasn’t sure what info to post so I thought I’d get asked for it.