Grow your CSS skills. Land your dream job.

A Fully Responsive Website.

• # September 9, 2012 at 2:35 pm

Hey Everyone,

I’m an aspiring designer & developer from the UK. I’m new to WordPress and the concept of Responsive Web Design. Over the weekend I have managed to build a custom WP theme from scratch and made the theme responsive. However, the site only changes layout at set break-points and is not ‘fully’ responsive like the http://www.css-trick.com website. Can anyone shed some light on what I should be doing to make my site so responsive / fluid?

Many thanks,

Craig.

# September 9, 2012 at 3:29 pm

You can always add more break points rather than just the ‘standard’ ones.

If at 536px (for instance) wide you need the design to look a certain way then just add that as a break point.

# September 9, 2012 at 3:43 pm

Thanks for the quick response Paulie. I’m not sure if adding more break points would help in this instance. If you resize in a desktop browser my test site behaves in this way http://www.blog.craigbibby.com/ when I want it to behave in this way http://viljamis.com/blog/. Any other thoughts?

:)

# September 9, 2012 at 3:48 pm

Can you specify what behaviour you are after. It might just be that the second site is using transitions

# September 9, 2012 at 3:50 pm

Try combining your break points with percentage widths for your layout components. Use google chrome’s developer tools to analyse what developers are doing with their CSS in order to produce an effect.

Maybe consider having a look at grids such as http://cssgrid.net/ to get a feel for how some developers have implemented such systems.

# September 9, 2012 at 4:04 pm

Yes, definitely make the widths and side margins %’s so they’re fluid and then you’ll be able to see where you need breakpoints much easier, plus it will flow so much more gracefully.

# September 9, 2012 at 4:14 pm