Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums Other Thoughts on design and copy

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 72 total)
  • Author
    CrocoDillon
    Participant

http://www.crocodillon.com/

*primary navigation doesn’t work yet*

I’ve finally uploaded the home page of my website last night, and would be interested in your opinions. Little bit of background, I will be blogging about anything development related I’m interested in (html, css, js, jQuery, php, zend framework 2, but also game development related etc.), will be posting about snippets, plugins, modules, templates, games etc. I’ve created and make myself available for hire as freelancer. That said selling myself as developer isn’t the primary goal of the website, but it is a major one. I do intend to make my living out of this (until now I have been making money but not enough to pay the bills).

As I’m not really a designer, a copywriter nor a typographist I would like your opinion about the design, the copy and the type used. In particular I’m not sure if I’m too happy about the main heading / logo, just colorized text doesn’t seem like good branding to me. And not sure if I should leave the footer dashed bottom border in there.

A minor issue I’m having is when you hover over one of the 3 sections, while the icon expands the main heading and the other icons get pixelated. Any way to prevent that? Wufoo’s home page is using the same effect without any problems.

I’m aware that I need to fix the lack of MQ support in IE < 9 :P

Anonymous
    Inactive