Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums CSS [SOLVED] Header – floats and li navigation positioning

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    mpenguin

Hi everyone,

I’m a noob trying to teach myself HTML and CSS. I thought that it would be good practice to take apart a website written in HTML 4.0 and tables and convert it to XHTML+CSS divs. I’ve gotten most of the header done so far and I’ve hit a wall. Your expertise and advise is appreciated.

First of all, the header has a logo on the left, and then 2 navigation menus on the right, one right underneath each other. Here’s what the nav menus should look like:

[img]http://images.dr3vil.com//files3/245/target_header.jpg[/img]

Now then, I’ve created a couple sprites and turned the menus into Unordered Lists. The first one works exactly as I intended using a sprite I made. The 2nd one, however, is not behaving and I just can’t figure out why. Here’s what mine looks like:

http://dev.morbidpenguin.com/test/

(I know the logo isn’t displaying properly – that’s on purpose). For whatever reason, I cannot get the sprite in the 2nd nav menu to display properly (should be inline, 38px X 77px each), nor can I get my text-indent to work and kick the text off. I’ve been playing with it for a couple of hours, but being the noob that I am, it was mostly just changing this, changing that, uploading, viewing, trying again.

Here’s the HTML for the 2nd nav menu:

And here’s the CSS I have for it so far (doesn’t include the rest or global styles.

Code:
    body {
    background: #737373 url(../images/body-bg.png) repeat-x;
    }

#wrap {
    width: 960px;
    margin: 0 auto;
    }

#headerlogo {
    float: left;
    }

#headernav {
    float: right;
    }

#uppersitenav {
    float: right;
    }

#lowersitenav {
    clear: both;
    }

/* These styles are for the #lowersitenav div */

#lowersitenav li {
    text-indent: -9999px;