Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums JavaScript My jQuery is just not working

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    elczrilo
    Participant

I’m completely new at this so it might seem very basic. I looked everywhere but really didn’t find anything to help me out with this problem.

I have a very simple basic HTML page linked to a .css stylesheet and a .js script.
    The HTML and CSS are loading fine, but the jQuery, which is a .click(); function applied to a simple button, just doesn’t seem to work and I don’t know what’s going on.

So here is my HTML, and jQuery codes followed by a list of what I’ve tried so far:
    The HTML
    `
    <!DOCTYPE html>
    <html>
    <head>
    <title>To Do</title>
    <link rel=”stylesheet” type=”text/css” href=”file:///C:/Users/Cyril/Desktop/Templates/DynamicToDoList.css”/>
    <script language= “javascript” type=”text/javascript” src=”file:///C:/Users/Cyril/Desktop/jQuery_Library/jquery-library-1.11.1.js”><script/>
    <script src=”file:///C:/Users/Cyril/Desktop/Templates/DynamicToDoList.js”></script>
    </head>
    <body>
    <h2>To Do</h2>
    <form name=”checkListForm”>
    <input type=”text” name=”checkListItem”/>
    </form>

<div>Add!</div>

<br/>
    <div></div>

</body>

</html>
    `

And the jQuery:
    `
    $(document).ready(function () {
    $(“#button”).click(function() {
    var toAdd = $(“input[name=checkListItem]”).val();
    $(“.list”).append(‘<div>’ + toAdd + ‘</div>’);
    });
    $(document).on(“click”, “.item”, function() {
    $(this).remove(); });
    });

`
    I learned this jQuery code on the codecademy.com website and decided to fool around with it on my own a little, but I haven’t got that far yet since it’s not even loading.