Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums CSS Gap between 2 lines in a header text

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    Zell Liew
    Participant

Hi there,

I’m new to HTML and CSS and I’m in the process of developing a blog for myself as a learning process.

I’m encountering some difficulties with the H1 text shown in the CodePen IO link
    (http://codepen.io/zellwk/pen/qHzdF “H1 a link with problems”).

The problem is that when I mouse over the middle of the text (between the lines), there is one small section where the hover effects clear off because it was not part of the area.

If I change the display to block instead, I find the hover area too large for my preference (it extends all the way to the end of the content area)

I dont want to reduce the line height either as it will break the vertical rythm.

Is there anything else I can do?

Thanks in advance!!

Zell

Paulie_D

It’s the

h1 a

there is no need to do that…style the h1 and a elements separately. http://codepen.io/Paulie-D/pen/wdnHz

wolfcry911
    Participant

add padding: 5px 0; to h1 a

Paulie_D

Or just do this

h1 a{
    display:block;
    }

wolfcry911
    Participant

zellwk already stated that display block makes the hover area too large (the area to the right of the last line becomes hoverable).

Alen
    Participant

> If I change the display to block instead, I find the hover area too large for my preference (it extends all the way to the end of the content area)

Block level elements will stretch across available area.
    Imagine a rectangle around H1 this would be your hit area.

I don’t see any issues with doing it with display:block;

see here: http://codepen.io/anon/pen/wKbIh

Zell Liew
    Participant

Hi all,

Thanks alot for the input.

@Paulie_D