Grow your CSS skills. Land your dream job.

Chat2: Group Chat Room

• # December 3, 2012 at 11:04 am

Hello and Greetings,

My name is Timothy. I am a barely competent web programmer, and learning a lot from this site.

I want to get the “Chat2: Group Chat Room” going on my website, but I’m having challenges I can’t resolve.

I uploaded and extracted all the files given in the demo to my website. And when I go to test, I input my username, and then receive a “Could not connect” on the follow-up page.

What did I not do? What do I need to do?

Thank you,
    Timothy

# December 3, 2012 at 11:07 am

I suppose it could be useful to include a link to the site:

http://www.becomealivinggod.com/Chat2

# December 3, 2012 at 5:42 pm

Have you configured dbcon.php? Do you have a database called chat2_db? I believe you need to use Setup.sql to add the tables to the database.

# December 3, 2012 at 11:18 pm

Please forgive me and my incompetence.

How do I configure dbcon.php? Do I manually create the database chat2_db? And how do I use Setup.sql to add the tables?

I attempted to create my own database and insert its name into the files, but it failed.

I swear I am reasonably intelligent, I just don’t know exactly what you’re talking about.

# December 4, 2012 at 6:05 pm

dbcon.php needs to know how to access your MySQL database. On my laptop, for example, I have apache, php and a mysql setup for localhost connections. My login name is, naturally, “example” and my password is “3x4mpl3_p4ssw0rd”. Someone told me once that it was smart to use letters and numbers, and I have been ever since. The top of dbcon.php therefore looks like:

define(HOST, ‘localhost’);
    define(USERNAME, ‘example’);
    define(PASSWORD, ’3x4mpl3_p4ssw0rd’);

To set up the database, go into MySQL and create the database:

CREATE DATABASE chat2_db;

To execute Setup.sql, navigate in the terminal to the directory with Setup.sql in, then execute the following:

mysql -u example -p chat_db < Setup.sql