Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums CSS Center elements inside of a container

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    AzizLight
    Participant

Hi everybody,
    I’ve been trying to find out how to center elements inside of a container. I know how to center the container with margin: 0 auto; but somehow it doesn’t work in my example:
    I have three boxes of equal size floated left inside of a wrapper container. I want to center those three boxes. I tried to put them in another div and center that div with margin: 0 auto; but it didn’t work. The actual div was centered in the wrapper but the boxes (that are inside that div) were not centered. You can see what I am talking about here.

Does anyone know how to solve that little problem please?

AzizLight
    Participant

I’m not a CSS pro (actually I’m kind of a noob) but I don’t think the problem comes from here.
    I tried to change all the values to pixels but it did not work; it actually got worse :? I Uploaded the result in a different page here.

I also tried tex-align: center; but all it did is center the text rather than the blocks (divs).

AzizLight
    Participant

Ok thanks a lot for the help. I thought that the padding shrink the text rather than the container (blocks).
    Anyway, I made it work on every browser except IE. I tried to add this conditional comment, but I never used conditional comments before so I don’t really know what I’m doing (yes I’m a noob):

Code:

This did not work (on IE 6 at least). Does anybody have a solution please?
    Here is the pages in question: http://aziz-light.is-a-geek.com/center3boxesPX.html and http://aziz-light.is-a-geek.com/center3boxesEM.html .

cssgirl
    Participant

Your code looks ok. When I position my container to be centered, I always like to add a position relative in there with the margin:0 auto; and the width.