Grow your CSS skills. Land your dream job.

Average time to design and develop a custom WordPress site.

• # February 4, 2013 at 6:05 pm

Hey Guys,

I’m a designer and front-end developer that primarily works on WordPress websites. I have now designed and developed over 10 custom themes for WordPress (I’ve been working in the business for over a year) and have a pretty well developed workflow, strategy, and tool set. I design in Photoshop and then take that to development using a starter theme that I’ve created (based off of the underscores starter theme).

Right now I am trying to justify hours to my new boss (who doesn’t have much previous experience with websites). He claims that I should be completing full small-mid sized projects in about 32 hours. This includes all client interactions, discovery report, wire-framing, design, development, deployment, edits, and setting up all of the content. I just don’t find this possible with a completely custom theme. It usually takes me around 32 hours to do the design and development of the site, without any of the client meetings and content management. He has mentioned decreasing my pay (as I get paid by the hour), and I would like to know about the time other people spend on projects like this. Here is an average break down of my typical design/development times:

• 3 hours strategy/wireframing
    • 8 hours homepage design
    • 4 hours interior page design
    • 20 hours font/back-end development/UX
    • 1 hour deployment

If anyone else would like to share their typical time estimates, that would be greatly appreciated.

# February 4, 2013 at 7:23 pm

5 days (roughly 32 hours) to build a WordPress theme is doable but will most probably cut corners/be rushed.

40 is more realistic

# February 4, 2013 at 7:55 pm