Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums CSS advice on the correct way to use a css sprite

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    andreea115
    Participant

hi everyone.

i am new to using css sprites and just have a few quick questions.

i have a page that consists of over 40 images,

10 in the header part (menu buttons- hover and normal state)h
    10 in the middle part
    and 25 in the footer part of the page

my question is this. do i create just one large sprite image containing all the images on the web page or do i create three separate sprite images. i.e

1 sprite for the header part
    1 sprite for the middle part
    1 for the footer

**question two:**
    i suspect that the advice will be that i should only make one large sprite image; if so, then my next question is this.

if a web page contains over 30 images, will it not cause a slow down in dowload time to upload such a large image. Will it not be faster to simply cut up my images into 3 separate sprite images

Question three

some of my sprite images will have to go on top of other sprite images on the page. what code can i use that will enable me to place one background image over another from the sprite board.

thank you for your kind attention and i look forward to hearing from you

warm regards

Andreea

ToxicFire
    Participant

That’s alot of image’s, personally first I’d go through those and see what can’t be replaced by a much more reusable piece of css.