Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums CSS XHTML/CSS Layout help.

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Furiouz

Hello everyone! I am new to this site and new to CSS! but this is the site I was looking for! :) Welcome everybody :)

I have been designing web interfaces in Photoshop for quite a while, I have stopped for couple a months and now I am trying to go back into designing but would also like to learn how to code my interfaces after. I am not an expert at html nor at css. I know more then basics and I try to learn as I go :)

So coming back into designing, I have designed a very simple web interface in order for me to start on coding for the first time. So I got stuck with some problems, I know they shouldn’t be a problem for you, more experienced coders :) So according to my attached preview of the layout, you can see that it has a background with a little simple logo and 2 buttons. you can see a little rounded glare on top center of the background and a little gradient that is stretched on the top of the layout.

My question is, how do I begin coding a background, that top middle glare, and a starched gradient, to make it look like on the preview?

[img]http://img42.imageshack.us/img42/1066/gtportfolio.th.jpg[/img]

This is what I have right now:

Code:

Untitled Document

and

Code:
    @charset “utf-8”;
    /* CSS Document */

body { padding:0px; margin:0 auto; background: url(images/bg.jpg) repeat; font-family: Verdana, Geneva, sans-serif; font-size:10px; color:#FFFFFF; text-align: center;}
    #container { padding:0px; margin: 0 auto; width:700px;}
    #header { padding:0px; margin:0 auto; background: url(images/topbg.jpg) top no-repeat; height: 200px; text-align: center;}
    #logo { padding: 30px 0px 0px 5px; margin:0 auto; float:left;}

Thank you guys ;)