Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums Other WordPress Security

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    gno

Hi CSS-tricksters,

As this site seems to be the home for quite a few WordPress enthusiasts I thought that this would be a good place to start this discussion.

I’m a long time PHP developer and I would, at any given time, prefer to do anything and everything by myself – not using any kind of CMS’s. Though I have received quite a few request on WordPress sites recently. So I decided to pick up the “Digging into WordPress” pdf-version, to take a look at it, and decide wether I should go with WordPress or convince my customers that my hand coded solutions are much better than a “one-size-fits-all”.

I must admit, that I have high hopes for the book – especially after reading the closing paragraph of the introduction; “If you are buying this because your boss is making you design a site around WordPress and you are none too happy about it… Bummer. But hopefully by the end we can turn your frown upside down and bring you into the light.” It made me smile :-)

What really bothers me is the advice given when the writers are talking about installation. What they are saying is that you should hide the WordPress files in a folder in your public root directory, so bots cannot find your admin interface logon page… More specific – have all files in a subfolder and moving index.php and .htaccess out of that one – and fixing a little pathing in index.php aswell.

But I do not see how this is actually a security improvement at all. It would not take anyone more than a few seconds to figure out if you are using wordpress or not – and even less time to figure out how to get to those files that you are trying to hide.

Now you’re thinking: “How would I do it differently?” Thanks! I thought that you would never ask…