Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums Back End WordPress: Different Homepage style

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Gondoli

http://www.emergeprosthetics.com/new_emerge/

I have begun to create a WordPress site that will allow for dynamic content such blogging and general CMS stuff. I’m very new to websites in general. I created a sub directory to test and build my site before I go live so to speak.
    I’m trying to work out some of the layout problems at this point and dynamically recreate what I did in a plain basic html document. I’ve searched on the Codex among other resources and bought Chris’s book which made my head hurt reading thu it. So much info…which is a good thing, but I haven’t been able to find a solution to this problem.

The following html document illustrates what I want my home page to look like. No sidebar is present;
    http://www.emergeprosthetics.com/test/

This layout represents the basic structure of what every page from then on will look like with the sidebar, posts comments, etc.;
    http://www.emergeprosthetics.com/test/main.html

If you look at the html you’ll obviously notice that there are two different wraps that create the different themes for each.

I tried going to Pages >Home> Attributes> Selected Main Page and created a homepage.php…but I’m kinda stuck on how to go about it really. If someone could please help provide a little guidance? I’d really appreciate it. Thanks!!

TheDoc

* Moved to CMS Section

Your index page will automatically use your template called "index.php", and your individual pages will automatically use the "page.php", your posts will automatically use "post.php", etc etc.

It’s tough to say exactly without looking at your templates. But you have an index.html, so you just need to make that into index.php and put wonderful wordpressy things into it.

Here’s more on template hierarchy: