Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums Other Which software, and why?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 24 total)
  • Author
    MrPaulsen
    Participant

Hello,

I’m all new to this site, and i’m really exited about what content it brings, and I cant wait to study more! I work as a graphic designer in print, but have made several web designs. I have never wanted to start coding and developing until I came across this site, today!

I’ve already seen the video about “#6: Tools of the Trade: The Mac Software I Use for Web Design” video, but since i’m kind of a rookie in doing the coding part of a website I couldn’t stop wondering if I really needed Coda, TextMate and all the other programs.

My goal is to get even more familiar with HTML/CSS and then learn to code website that are WordPress compatible.

So here are my questions:

1: So which software do you recommend for me, a rookie, that has basic HTML/CSS knowledge and very little PHP/WordPress skills.

2: Is dreamweaver enough?

3: Do you recommend using Flux3 ?

4: Anything else you would recommend for me? :)

Thanks for you answers. Looking forward sticking around these forums, and learn from the best.

Rasmus, Denmark.

cybershot
    Participant

I love dreamweaver. I use dreamweaver cs4. I don’t think you should stay away from dreamweaver. What you should stay away from is using the visual part of dreamweaver only. You should use the split screen to see the code and the design but you should work on designing your site using code only. The visual part is very helpful in allowing you to see your margins and borders. It also can be very helpful in finding unclosed tags that you might have forgotten about.