Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums Other What to learn?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Bokehman
    Participant

Would appreciate some insight from people on the learning curve for all this web stuff.

I’m a long time print designer (25 yrs.) and am trying to learn as much as I can on the development side. I think I have a decent handle on HTML and CSS. JQuery I’m really struggling with, for some reason.

Is there a particular area, or order I should be learning things here? Would learning WordPress be more important than JQuery? That sort of thing. There just seems to be so much I’m finding it difficult to focus.

Thanks in advance.

Roxon

I would hit jQuery first, just because you can do all sorts of things with it when developing WordPress themes. Google up some tutorials on jQuery – what part are you struggling with, specifically?

Bokehman
    Participant

I don’t know if there’s any one specific thing i’m finding difficult with JQuery – i’m just not enjoying it as much as CSS. I think I got used to how clean CSS looks, and JQuery seems more intimidating to me. I usually learn a few different ways, books, lynda.com, blogs, and this site, of course.

I find a lot of the tutorials dive into coding right away, and I’d like a little background on how it works, semantics, etc …

I just haven’t found my “a ha” moment in JQuery yet.

DboG

Just by wanting to do it and persisting you’ve already done half the work.