Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums Other what to include in a portfolio to get the first job

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    akurtula
    Participant

hi

I studied web development at Uni for three years, I graduate next month, and now I am free to concentrate on really developing my skills and landing my first job.

University was great experience and it was at uni where I was introduced to web design, but non of the work I done for uni are worth displaying in a portfolio, so if I don’t “feel” the work, I’m sure clients would hate them even more, and if anything they downgrade my abilities.

Now considering I have nothing and that producing new work would take me some time (two weeks-ish per site or slightly more depending on complexity). how many peaces should I aim to get in my portfolio to start with, i am aware ideally it could be over 10, but considering all this, what do you think?

also do you think it would be a good idea to have a “demos” section in my portfolio (similar to the downloads page here) where I would show small project: which this way I can show my ability in a wider range of things and (ultimately most importantly) learn new things quicker.

I searched around the forum and the web and there are loads of questions about portfolios (not specific to these 2 questions though) so I am sorry if I am asking a “pointless” question to a wider interest, but I would truly appreciate it would could share your opinion

TheDoc

Certainly don’t need 10 items in your portfolio. Quality over quantity. If you have 2-3 things that you are really proud of, then you should use them.

Don’t put up things that you think could hurt you just for the sake of having them.

Cook