Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums Other What should I expect from my designer?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Irish

So I am a graduate web developer, currently focusing on front end but with a little php and ruby and sql experience. My degree had a heavy user experience focus so I am comfortable with layout, usability etc. I am not comfortable with actual graphic design though, why a certain font works or why something should have a drop shadow or be moved a pixel over isnt really my forte.

To compensate for this I am working with an extremely experienced and talents graphic designer. Their specialty is print however.

I have a few freelance projects lined up and the work flow will be something like this. Gather requirements, iterate over layout and interaction flows etc send wire frames and low – medium fidelity prototypes to graphic designer, graphic designer sends back the finalised design and I code and develop the rest of the project.

My question is what should I expect back from the graphic desiger? Its going to be a psd file or multiple psds but what are the important points for him to convey? how do web designers convey the spacing between elements, the padding they have etc. I am not too worried about the look of the site I can figure that out with trial and error but its the layout that has me worried.

He is a print designer so is familiar with grids so I would like him to design it to a grid and use ems and percentages for sizing. which measurements are suitable for what? I am thinking percentages for width and ems for pretty much everything else? Any problems with that?

Does anyone have an example deliverable they received from a designer which includes how they conveyed the grid and sizing information?

SOrry for rambling any general advice is appreciated.

Alen
    Participant