Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums CSS Website Font Recommendation

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    goalieman34

I am looking to improve my website and add in some new fonts. I have never done this before so just looking for some guidance. I have always like Myriad Pro – Sans serif but do not know if it would look good or not. If you could recommend some fonts that would be great. Thanks everyone

http://www.jobspark.ca/

chrisburton
    Participant

What’s your budget?

goalieman34

I have no idea what fonts cost but my budget would be maybe $60-100. Not sure if that enough

JMar

You could use a typekit. Typically you can get one for free but you could pay more for access to more fonts. What you do is choose your fonts, and then paste a line of code in your head> to link out to the typekit to display your fonts. I use adobe’s typekit.com, there’s also fonts.com and probably many more.

chrisburton
    Participant

@goalieman34

Gosh, I hope @Eric is being sarcastic.

For sake of quality, I’d go with Webtype. You can choose two styles for that amount. Lately I’ve been a big fan of Benton Sans.
    If you want a more robust selection, go with Typekit’s Portfolio plan.

Let me know which you choose so I can help narrow down your requirements for a selection.

Choosing webfonts is just like developing a site that’s cross-platform/browser compatible. Many people don’t test their selections which usually end up looking horrible on Windows. That’s why I recommend Webtype but Typekit does a decent job as well (sometimes).

goalieman34

@chrisburton thanks for letting me know about Webtype. I will choose some styles and let you know how I make out. I want a professional looking website so looking for quality and willing to pay some. Thanks again

goalieman34