Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums Other Website Design Critique

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    zbirdboy

Hey all,

I’m new to these parts, but figured it’d be a good spot to post my new web design. It is going to be a template available on ThemeForest, but before i submit it, i wanted some feedback.

Here’s a little background…

This template is designed for a modern, sophisticated restaurant, one that wants an online presence that reflects the restaurant well. It’s designed with a clean and elegant look using a color scheme of red, gray, and white.

The back-end is also designed for a non-coder because it uses simple to edit XML files as menus which then dynamically update the menu page and the featured item on the homepage. PHP and jQuery to create the menu and image gallery type thing on the home page.

Please be completely honest about anything, design, code, whatever. I know that it may not validate, that, and the contact page doesn’t send an email because my free host im using temporarily doesn’t allow contact forms to send an email. So those are two known issues, and im just so sick of staring at this thing that I could use some fresh perspective.

http://chivalrie2.vndv.com/index.php

Thanks in advance,
    Zach

chazzwick

i agree with everything written above. Also, i notice you are using the non-compressed version of Jquery. You could save quite a few kB by using the min or pack version (http://code.google.com/p/jqueryjs/). Also make the logo image a link back to the hompage,and decrease the letter spacing in the footer.

ScottMacD

Hmm unless the page has changed, im look at the site on my laptop which has a 13.3 inch screen and a 1280×800 pixel resolution, and there is no horizontal scrolling.