Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums CSS Website Critique Please…

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    jmellor

Hello,
    I am a long time lurker but first time poster here and I have always valued the advice and feedback that you all provide so I am hoping that you can give me some input regarding a personal portfolio website that I am working on.

A few notes:
    -I am primarily a designer and know enough about the development side to get me in trouble…
    – The site is semi HTLM5 (still working though the switch) and the code is still a bit dodgy as I am designing as I am developing.
    -Some of the copy needs to be rewritten…just shooting from the hip for now…
    -The site is not responsive yet, plan to get to that soon….
    -I am using Typekit and my font library is huge (for now) as I put a bunch of possible fonts in a temproary library for the design phase….so the fonts may load slow….once I dial it in I will trim down the library and speed things up…

So give it to me… here is the temporary landing spot: http://mellor-design.com/creativejuly82012

Thanks in advance for your comments.

Cheers,
    Jim

theacefes

Pretty!

The only thing I might recommend is maybe grab a smaller piece of that header/nav background and repeat that instead of having a 2000 px wide image.

HoughtonA
    Participant

Ooh this is very nice! Two things I noticed:

The gritty, uneven bottom part of your header is out of place, compared to the rest of the design (which is very clean).

I would add title text to that giant text image you have there (your “tagline”) or better yet, turn it into actual text.

Overall, though, it looks very fun and professional!

jmellor