Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums Other WebSite change Form practice problems

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    steedvlx600
    Participant

Hello… old newbie here… getting back into making web sites after 10 years…

I was using this series of demonstrations… located here..

https://css-tricks.com/sending-nice-html-email-with-php/

to try to learn how to work with simple form submission-to-email.

It is a great series (Thank you for that) And, I am learning a LOT from digging into it. As a matter of fact, it has helped me create a great looking submission page… that works flawlessly… But, (There’s always a “but” isn’t there?)

my next step is to replace the usual submit button with a custom image button. Easy! right?

The old code for the button, (which worked beautifully) and the subsequent failed attempt at an image button is… (OK, I just learned that i cannot use codepen at the moment. So, I had to paste the code instead.)

//http://codepen.io/anon/pen/PwOaEd

!– original working button –>
    <label for=”submit”>
    </label>
    <input type=”submit” value=”Send Message!” />

<!– Attempted image button –>

<input type=”image” border=”0″ name=”submit” src=”img/post_message_btn.jpg” value=”Send Message!” width=”150″ height=”30″ />

This image button/submit FAILS with the “Hack-Attempt detected. Please use only the fields in the form.” ERROR generated by the whitelist check which was included in the series.

Edited PHP code block:

<?php // Building a whitelist array with keys which will send through the form, no others would be accepted later on
    $whitelist = array(‘token’,’name’,’email’,’subject’,’URL-main’,’text’,’save-stuff’);

` // Building an array with the $_POST-superglobal
    foreach ($_POST as $key=>$item) {