Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums CSS Typography not condensing enough for Iphone

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 22 total)
  • Author
    SusannB
    Participant

Can someone please help me fix this problem?

It looks good on Tablet, Computer but on an Iphone (not the big one) the two top fonts do not condense enough (like two characters are not shrunk enough into the space and I cannot for the life of me figure out how to fix it. (I’m new to CSS and fluid layouts)

Two top lines are H1 and H2.
    http://www.brucebrodydc.com

I.m.learning
    Participant

On my phone, and when minimizing the browser, the image and background color disappears, is this just me?

SusannB
    Participant

Yes, did that to help with faster load time.

Need help with the fonts though….the top two lines.

Beverleyh
    Participant

CSS properties that you might want to look in to;

font-size http://www.w3schools.com/cssref/pr_font_font-size.asp
    line-height http://www.w3schools.com/cssref/pr_dim_line-height.asp
    letter-spacing http://www.w3schools.com/cssref/pr_text_letter-spacing.asp
    white-space http://www.w3schools.com/cssref/pr_text_white-space.asp

Have a play. Change/add the values to your stylesheets. Combinations of these should help.

Atelierbram
    Participant

There is a class of clearfix set on the gridContainer, but not declared in the CSS, and white-space: nowrap; set on #header (and inherited by all the headers) is not within a media-query. Because of the large font-size and the headings not wrapping, this causes the overflow on small screen sizes.

So when the white-space: nowrap; kicks in on a wider screen: is within a media-query, this issue will be solved:

@media only screen and (min-width: 480px) {
      #header h1,
      #header h2 {
       white-space: nowrap; 
       }
     }

http://codepen.io/atelierbram/pen/qNdQaw