Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums CSS Trying to position buttons in a footer

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 23 total)
  • Author

Hello! I am new to web design, so I apologize ahead of time if I come off too-green!

Here is my question:
    I have made a footer in photoshop. I want to make the navigation buttons on the footer have an effect when the mouse rolls over them. I have made the separate images for the hover effect below:

http://i.imgur.com/piQoz.jpg Without rollover
    http://i.imgur.com/SBV9F.jpg With rollover

I know how to create the footer with click-able areas WITHOUT rollover effect (essentially an image map).

I also know how to create a roll over effect to a single image both in JS and CSS.

My trouble is creating the footer with the images placed where I would like them (as seen in my photoshop screenshot) with the mouseover effect for each icon.

If I am correct, my issue is simply positioning images with the hover-effect, which I do not know how to do.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

furrball1383

Hi, It might be a lot easier for you to just make the on and off states into a sprite and then have the css shift the position for the different states. I don’t think an image map is the way to go. If you simply have a div for your footer with the background image set as the image you have (without the buttons) then use an unordered list with block elements for navigation in which each list item is one of your buttons and then use the sprite to switch states, that might be better.

Here’s the explaination on sprites from css-tricks
    https://css-tricks.com/158-css-sprites/

and i’m sure you can find the method for building the navigation, i learned it from one of Chris’s videos on building a webpage

I understand the sprites idea, but placing the buttons where I designed them is what I’m really having a rough time with.

Sargco07