Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums CSS Transparent Hovering Image Help

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author
    bLAZYY

Im a rookie to the css and html industry and im in need of some help so would be grateful if anyone could solve my problem.

Im trying to make a transparent colour hover over my thumbnail photo in my portfolio section of the website but i cant seem to work it out, currently whats happening is i manage to get the opacity at 30% and it works but its showing the white background of my body behind the hover and not the thumbnail image

Please if anyone could give me some advice i would appreciate it .

Kind Regards

Paulie_D

You can do this with a psuedo element BUT you can’t apply those to an image.

So, if you wrap the image in a block level element such as a div or figure, you can apply the pseudo element to that.

Like this: http://codepen.io/anon/pen/uEnBm

bLAZYY

Thanks for the really quick reply Paulie, like i said I’m a rookie and what you’ve posted is exactly what i was looking for but im not sure i understand it 100% from what i can see you’ve applied a wrap around the image and added a hover on top of that? Will this allow the image to still be linkable?

I like to learn things so want to understand how they work rather then just copying code but i will attempt to use what you sent on code pen and implement it onto my site

Thank you very much

Kind regards

Paulie_D

Oh….you want the image to be a link…that’s even better.

No need for the div as the anchor can be used instead…

http://codepen.io/anon/pen/fALbG

I’ve added a couple of comments as well.

bLAZYY

I will try that now and see how i get along, for me its a bit different because im using wordpress and editing a template cos im a beginner :)

http://www.hkinteriors.co.uk

that’s the link to the website if ur interested

Thanks again Paulie appreciate it

bLAZYY