Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums Other Thrash my Web & Graphic Design site

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    SpaciousMind

Hi gang — I’m new to CSS-Tricks but its quickly become my new favorite site for web stuff. Cheers to Chris for all the hard work and sharing his awesome knowledge, and to whoever is helping him.

Just relaunched my web & graphic design site in WordPress (but no blog at this point yet, just using it as the CMS), of course I want to change it all around already… but don’t have time right now for a complete overhaul. Anything that can make this one better would be helpful.

It uses CSS-Tricks’ Organic Tabs on the projects page (thanks again Chris), but the slides are all the same size so I turned off the ‘pushing down’ thing. I’m not 100% happy with the look of that page at the moment, but love the tab functionality itself.

OK enough yammerin. Have at it:

http://www.spaciousmind.com

Any feedback appreciated. Please don’t be too nice or polite — the good is always cool to hear about, but especially want the bad and the ugly.

Thanks
    Dave

Lynz

I like the bright colors overall, but I think they need to be toned down a bit. Especially the main magenta-colored area, combined with the white text, it is very hard on the eyes.

Like the overall look and feel, but honestly hate the font on your tabs (and anywhere else you use it). The "s" in particular is really funky (but not in a good way).

Good luck!

jmorrow

I think that the banner graphic is kind of cool in a retro 70’s type of way. I agree with the above poster that the white font with the magenta background causes eye strain.

Colors need to be toned down. You could also stand to increase the font size. Microfont combined with the colors hurt my precious eyes.

The background looks kind of flat, though. It focuses the content, but it kind of looks wasted.